Talking Pictures Magazine Design (May 2017)

Issue 34 King Arthur.jpg

With the release of Guy Ritchie’s latest film, King Arthur: Legend of the Sword I felt it was appropriate to design my latest magazine cover on its lead character. Starring Charlie Hunnam and Jude Law, this modern retelling of the Arthurian Legend (the first of two this year) is set to feature some of the Ritchie’s usual filmic quirks.

As for the design, I have opted to make this cover simple. With one image of the title character, on a grey background, I have used the colour scheme to make aspects punch out. With a yellow and grey contrast, the text is able to stand out from the background emulating a 3D effect for the design.

I have also cut around the head of the Hunnam’s portrait and applied layer techniques to push his figure out from the background. With this done, I was able to write various names of Arthurian nights behind, breaking up the background and adding a historical context to the overall design.

Overall I had a lot of fun creating this magazine cover, and although it is simple in comparison to some of my other covers, I feel that it allowed me a chance to play around with colours and text formats.

If you like my design please follow the blog, where I will post articles frequently and will continue to design magazine covers.

*************

Leave a Reply

